University of Essex Home Page

Skip to main contentAcademic Section Home Page

University of Essex Home Page


University of Essex - Undergraduate Rules of Assessment from Academic Year 2008-09


The University’s Undergraduate Rules of Assessment apply to all students in all disciplines across the University. Rules of Assessment are used to determine whether a student can progress from one year of study to the next, what is required to qualify for an award and how a degree classification is arrived at in the final year of study.

Some programme structures will have been changed to adapt to the new Rules of Assessment. You can view the Programme Specification for your course and stage of study when you log onto myEssex, or via eNROL (module enrolment) when it is open.

Rules of Assessment for students on 4-year programmes who are entering the 4th year in 2008/09

Rules of Assessment for students repeating the third or final year in 2008/2009, or returning to the final year after intermitting in 2007/08

Undergraduate Rules of Assessment

  1. Principles of the Rules of Assessment Framework

  2. Framework for University of Essex Undergraduate courses

  3. Three-year Honours courses (including courses with a Preliminary Stage)

  4. Four-year Honours courses

  5. Foundation Degrees

  6. Diploma of Higher Education

  7. Certificate of Higher Education

  8. Certificate of Continuing Education

  9. Ordinary Degrees

  10. Certificate in Education

  11. Extenuating Circumstances

  12. Examination Board Discretion

[top of page]

Appendix A.  Variations to the Rules of Assessment, approved by the Undergraduate School Board 

Appendix A - document for printing which contains the variations for the following departments

Essex Business School (previously Accounting, Finance and Management)
Area Studies
Art History and Theory
Biological Sciences
Computing and Electronic Systems*
East 15 Acting School and Professional Code of Conduct
Health and Human Sciences
Human Rights
International Academy
Mathematical Sciences
Course/Module Specific Variations

*Please note that there are two sets of variations for the Department of Computing and Electronic Systems: one for students entering the second or final year in 2008/09, and one for students entering the first year in 2008/09.

Colchester Institute
Kaplan Open Learning
South East Essex College (SEEC)
Writtle College

Appendix B - Glossary

[top of page]


University of Essex Home Page
offices | students | contact information | links and FAQs | search and site map | home